Incoming Student Highlight: Lizzette Marrero

Bio photo- Lizette

Lizzette Marrero is super excited to begin her journey in our Masters of Arts in Security Policy Studies program! Lizzette plans to concentrate on Security and Development and Defense analysis.

I just celebrated my graduation from the University of Texas at Austin (Hook em’ Horns!) with double bachelors in Government and International Relations and Global Studies with a focus on International Security and a minor in Latin American Studies. During my undergraduate career, I dedicated myself to being a part of the University of Texas Speech Team. This year, we won our first team sweepstakes national championship in fourteen years, which was a pretty amazing parting gift from UT! I also had the honor of winning two national championships in duo interpretation with my speech partner and best friend, Alexa Thomas! When I wasn’t practicing speech I was either working or studying. I interned a lot to gain experience and unique skill sets, and even had the opportunity to work for the City of Austin’s Communication and Public Information Office for a year!

Aside from work and school I studied abroad in Santander Spain for a semester. I met some of my closest friends and got to see rich history. While I am a native Spanish speaker, I really perfected my grammar and academic understanding of the language during my time in Spain. Above everything, I made friends that will last a lifetime

I am actually taking this summer off for the first time to spend time with my family. My family is the most important part of my life, and I have never lived very far away from them! I made it a priority to keep work to a minimum as a result and just relax at home with my family and my puppies.

I am so excited to be entering the Elliott School of International Affairs! I think the education and perspective offered in such an amazing area is unique! I am hoping to use my education to enter the Foreign Service and promote peace and security across borders.

In my free time, I like to go running, listen to music, play with my puppies, and lounge around drinking café with my family!