Incoming Student Highlight: Sahil Jain

Sahil Jain photo

I will be joining the Elliott School this Fall pursuing a MAIR with a concentration in U.S. Foreign Policy.

I was born and raised in Northern California and graduated from The Maxwell School at Syracuse University in 2013 with a degree in International Relations and South Asian Studies.  During my time at Syracuse University I studied overseas in the U.K. and India.

After graduation, I started working at the U.S. Department of State in the Office of Israeli and Palestinian affairs as a Foreign Affairs Officer.  I then moved to the U.S. Agency for International Development in the Global Development working on foreign assistance programs.  I’m currently working at the U.S. Department of State as a Country officer.  This past March I was awarded the State Department Charles B. Rangel International Affairs Fellowship and will join the U.S. Foreign Service in 2018.

This summer, prior to starting graduate school, I am a foreign affairs fellow in Congressman Ami Bera’s office.

In my free time I like to play basketball, travel, and read.