Incoming Student Highlight: Atem Malak

Atem Pic

My name is Atem Peter Malak. I will be undertaking M.A of International Affairs with a Conflict and Conflict Resolution emphasis this fall. During my undergraduate studies, I majored in History with an Economics minor at Walla Walla University, College Place, Washington. I am fluent in Dinka (my native tongue), Juba-Arabic (spoken only), Basic French and fluent in English.

What I want to do with my Elliott School’s MA is to go back home (South Sudan) and work to promote peace, reconciliation and conflict resolution.

I am spending my summer familiarizing myself with Washington DC and attending many amazing events at different Think Tanks and also trying to get myself a decent job. In my free time, I like to play chess, hike, read, and hangout with friends.