Incoming Student Highlight: Sergio Fontanez

SErgio

My name is Sergio Fontanez. I am pursuing a master’s degree in International Affairs with a concentration in International Law and Organizations. I graduated from Central Connecticut State University with bachelor’s degrees in History and Mathematics. After college, I spent six years in the military. During that time, I spent one year deployed to Afghanistan helping create a self-sustaining Afghan Air Force. After separating from the Air Force, I decided to pursue a law degree.

Currently, I am participating in the joint-degree program at The George Washington University pursuing a juris doctorate and a master’s degree in international affairs. After graduating, I hope to become a Foreign Services Officer with the Department of State. On my free time, you can find me at a movie theater. I try to catch a movie once a week. I am really looking forward to the upcoming year!