Incoming Student Highlight: Jay Porter

Jay Porter

My name is Jay Porter. I am twenty-four years old and grew up in Decatur, IL. I enjoy going dancing, taking walks, playing video games, and talking about history. I will be majoring in the Latin American and Hemispheric Studies Program at GWU.

Currently, I am studying at Brigham Young University-Idaho and will graduate July 20th with a B.A. in History and a minor in Spanish. I served in Paraguay as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from May 2011 to May 2013. That’s where I learned to speak Spanish and Guarani. I hope to work with people from South America in a future career with the Department of State, Immigration Services, or non-profit organizations. Eventually, I want to publish a satirical book or two similar to Candide by Voltaire except taking place in modern times.