2017 Incoming Class: Carlos De Castro Pretelt

 

IMG_2316

Meet Carlos – Incoming Master’s in International Policy & Practice (M.I.P.P.) student from Columbia!

I was born and raised in the sunny coastal city of Barranquilla, Colombia (same city were Shakira is from).  Upon completing high school, I migrated to the US with my father and we decided to settle in Hollywood, FL.  A few months following my arrival, I decided to explore and serve my new adoptive country, at the same time earning money for college, by enlisting in the US Armed Forces.

Since then, I’ve had the privilege of attending a number of professional and academic institutions while discovering this great country and its people.  During my time in service, I’ve been tasked with a wide range of different occupations, lived all over the continental US, and explored five different countries.  Currently I am studying French to become a Foreign Area Officer with the hopes of furthering security cooperation with our partner nations while facilitating consensus building towards mutually beneficial goals.

I have chosen to attend George Washington University due to its prestigious history, superb academic programs, and location in the heart of our political system.  I will be attending the Masters of International Policy and Practice program and look forward to sharing the lessons in leadership I’ve gathered through years of professional military education and unique positions of responsibility.  At the end of the program, I hope to have mastered the interpersonal intricacies required to operate and succeed within a multinational environment.

In closing, I look forward to living in D.C., meeting some of my world-class peers (that could be you!), and learning about the different jobs, cultures, and interests.  If you see me walking around campus, don’t be afraid to say hi!

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.