2017 Incoming Class: Daniel McCarthy

IMG_0178.jpg

Meet Daniel – First year Security Policy Studies student specializing in Energy Security.

I grew up in Idaho (potatoes ain’t the only thing we grow) and graduated from the University of Idaho in 2014 with a degree in International Studies and Spanish. During my undergrad, I was fortunate enough to study abroad in Bilbao, Spain for two semesters. Needless to say, I caught the travel bug.

After my undergrad, I had no idea what I wanted to do and no good job prospects, so I said screw it, I’m going to China. I spent one month in Phnom Penh, Cambodia getting a TESOL certification. I then went to Zhongwei, China for a year and helped establish a new English language school. Being the only foreigner in the town, I got the full immersion experience.

My motto in life is “retire as early and often as possible,” so I retired from my teaching gig, and traveled around Asia for a few months. When I got back to the States I decided to come out of retirement (or unemployment as my parents liked to call it) and got a job at an advertising agency where I have been managing social media, making animated videos, and doing a little graphic design for the past year.

I will be retiring from this soon to pursue an MA at GWU where I hope to find my way into the Energy Security field. Specifically, I’m interested in how a sustainable and economic nuclear energy system can be developed to create new options for renewable energy sources. Simplifying the necessary nuclear energy infrastructure, reducing overall costs and enabling a safe, secure form of nuclear energy would allow all nations to quicken their pace of economic development and reduce poverty.

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.

Leave a Reply

