2017 Incoming Class: Cristina Guevara

CristinaGuevaraMeet Cristina – First year Global Communications student from Panama!

I was born in Panama City, Panama, to a Panamanian mother and Canadian father. From a young age, I witnessed a radical disparity between the city’s flourishing economy and the poverty plaguing the rest of the country. This extreme contrast made me eager to learn more about the causes and effects of injustice and corruption. My father, a political science professor and writer, read bedtime stories to me each night, sparking in me a great love for storytelling. My international awareness and passion for writing and visual arts have inspired me to pursue a career in communications with a focus on global affairs.

In December 2015, I graduated from Holy Cross College in Notre Dame, Indiana, with a double major in Communications and Psychology. I returned to Panama and worked in the TV industry for a few months, before deciding to take some time off to travel. I spent three months in Europe and then six in Sydney, Australia, where I received a contract to work at an advertising agency. The experiences I gained working in media left me feeling that there is more to learn and a greater need for an understanding of the issues pertaining to media ethics and the impact of globalization on communication.

When my contract in Sydney was up, I started thinking about graduate programs that could provide me with a better understanding of the economic, political, and cultural implications of effective communication. Washington D.C.’s location is unbeatable and ESIA’s M.A. in Global Communication offers an exciting and challenging curriculum. I am beyond thrilled to move to D.C. this fall and take advantage of everything this city has to offer.

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.