2017 Incoming Class: Mini Mohan

 

FullSizeRender (4)

Meet Mini (formally ‘Saudamini’) – First year MIPP student from Mumbai, India!

I earned my undergrad degree in Physics and thereafter got an MBA degree in Marketing and Finance in India. I have been working in Banking & Financial Services in Mumbai for a decade and my baptism by fire happened in the global financial crisis of 2007 🙂

My areas of focus at the Elliott School will be in Conflict Resolution, Regional Security Studies, and International Economic Policy. I hope to work for organizations like the World Bank, IMF and think tanks.

I love traveling as much as whipping up a mean chicken curry. New places, new sights and new experiences excite me. I feel travel is one of the best educations I have given myself. It’s helped me gain new perspectives about myriad things.

I gave up my job last fall to focus on getting into a school of my choice. Since then, I have been volunteering as a teacher/mentor to college students from economically disadvantaged families. I also managed to make a quick, fun-filled trip to South Africa in April. I have promised myself (fingers crossed!!!) a trip to a least one new country every year.

In my spare time, I enjoy reading, yoga & meditation, running, and catching up with friends and family.

I’m super excited about getting back to school, exploring D.C., and meeting a whole bunch of new people 🙂

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.