2017 Incoming Class: Tom Seaman

Elliott Bio Picture

Meet Tom – First year International Affairs student & veteran, concentrating in US Foreign Policy and International Security!

I’m originally from the small town of Epping, New Hampshire. I attended Saint Anselm College in Manchester, NH for my undergrad where I majored in Politics. I benefitted from outstanding professors who taught me to apply my classroom learning to the real world, and to always seek the connections between diverse issues.

After college, I wanted to serve my country so I enlisted in the Marine Corps and served four years in the infantry. During my enlistment, I had the honor of deploying overseas twice and spent time in three different countries. These deployments gave me a ground level view of U.S. foreign policy and defense strategy and the opportunity to explore new countries and cultures.

I chose the Elliott School due to the strong academic reputation, the focus on career development, and its location. My goal is to have a career in public policy where I can make a positive, tangible impact on the role America plays in the world.

I was recently awarded a fellowship from HillVets, a DC based organization dedicated to strengthening the voices of veterans in government, to begin in mid-June. In my free time I enjoy reading, hiking, football, hockey and traveling. I’m very much looking forward to meeting everyone at the end of summer!

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.