2017 Incoming Class: Jeremy Case

1566280

Meet Jeremy – Incoming Master’s in International Polocy & Practice (M.I.P.P.) student with a focus on Cybersecurity.

I enlisted in the United States Air Force in 2007 and was stationed at Hickam Air Force Base, Hawai’i.  While in the military, I attended evening and weekend classes to earn my B.S. in Computer Science, which I graduated with in 2014.  After separating from the Air Force, I accepted a position with the Department of the Navy as a computer scientist in Patuxent River, Maryland (I have since moved on by accepting a position as a software engineer with Next Century Corporation).
In September of 2015, I began attending courses at The George Washington University to earn an M.S. in Computer Science which I completed in May 2017.
In light of recent events, cybersecurity has become a hot topic.  I personally believe that relying solely on technical solutions to boosting the nation’s cybersecurity isn’t realistic.  From my perspective, the best solutions to shoring up the nation’s cybersecurity will come through public/private sector relationships and foreign policy.
This is why I chose to study at the Elliot School of International Affairs.  I plan to learn about foreign policy, security studies, and cybersecurity strategy from the incredible professors and practitioners at the ESIA.  Eventually, I hope to apply those lessons in securing America’s increasingly internet-based infrastructure.

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.