2017 Incoming Class: Rubi Corral

blog entry -GWU

Meet Rubi – First year Security Policy Studies student from Mexico, concentrating in Cybersecurity and Security & Development!

Hi! My name is Rubi Corral and I am from Mexico!  I earned my Bachelor’s degree in International Relations from the Universidad de las Americas Puebla, which is located in Cholula, a beautiful town surrounded by pyramids and volcanos.

I am originally from Ciudad Juarez, a town on the border between Mexico and the United States, also well-known in Mexico as the home of the fabulous and famous singer, Juan Gabriel!

I have spent the last five years living in Mexico City, where I work for the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement (INL) in the U.S. Embassy.  My current job focuses on professionalizing and equipping the Mexican police forces.  I have had the opportunity to work directly on security-related issues through the Merida Initiative, which is a 2 billion dollar justice-sector aid program the United States is providing to Mexico since 2008.  In my current position I work on programs focused on addressing criminal activities that are taking place online.  I have learned a lot from the Department of State, it is a place I will always remember as the catalyzer of my professional career.  I have wonderful and intelligent Mexican and American colleagues that I am sure I will work with again later in life.

Before I move to D.C., I will travel to Europe where I will be visiting friends and family.  I am very much looking forward to living in D.C. and for classes at GWU.  I am sure I will meet very interesting people and colleagues.  I can’t wait!

See you soon!

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.