2017 Incoming Class: Caitlin Jones

20150522_122729

Meet Caitlin – First year Security Policy Studies student with concentrations in Security & Development and Natural Resources & the Environment.

I graduated in May, 2017 from Randolph College in Lynchburg, Virginia where I received a Bachelor’s of Arts in Global Studies with a concentration on Human Security and Disaster Management, a Bachelor’s of Arts in Environmental Studies with Honors, and a minor in Economics. During my undergraduate career, I interned with the Maryland Emergency Management Agency where I assisted in rewriting emergency management plans and partaking in exercises. I studied abroad in 2015 in Provence, France where I studied history, culture, and to an extent, wine.

This summer I am excited to be interning at Booz Allen Hamilton Inc. in Norfolk, VA, attempting to address client needs in a team with varying disciplines and skills.

I am very interested in environmental security – which was the topic behind my undergraduate honors research. I hope to further pursue an understanding of security from different perspectives to strengthen my skills in environmental security, development, and diplomacy. I hope to one day serve as a Foreign Service Officer for the U.S. State Department, specializing in these fields.

For fun I enjoy traveling and what some may consider “extreme sports” such as hang gliding, sky diving, and scuba diving! I recently got my PADI advanced open water diver certification and am looking forward to exploring the world at greater depths!

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.