2017 Incoming Class: Yumeng Zhang

IMG_9703

Meet Yumeng – First year International Affairs student & amateur chef from China!

I was born and raised in Shenyang, China and moved to the United States 4 years ago for my Bachelor’s degree. I recently graduated from Wofford College with a BA in Government and French.

Having done my undergraduate studies in a small Southern town, I directed most of my time studying and promoting cultural diversity, which leads me to pursue a MA in International Affairs with ESIA.

During my undergraduate years, I had the opportunity to lead the French Club on campus, and to spend a semester studying and working for a non-profit NGO in Paris. I hope to further develop my understanding of the diversity of the world through my upcoming studies at ESIA and potentially more semesters abroad.

With the knowledge and experience that ESIA can provide me, I hope to further pursue a career of conference interpretation. I am thrilled about the potential opportunities I might have at ESIA and in the DC area.

In my free time, I am an amateur chef and I love cooking for myself and for others (Check out my foodstagram: chefmengga). I enjoy hiking and have also recently started learning photography.

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.

Leave a Reply

