2017 Incoming Class: Sophie-Anne Baril

FullSizeRender(67)

Meet Sophie-Anne – First year International Affairs student concentrating in International Economic Affairs!

Prior to joining the Elliott School, I completed my Bachelor of Arts in International Studies at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
During my undergraduate studies, among other things, I studied abroad in Dublin, Ireland and completed a Capstone research project focused on the economic, legal, and social challenges immigrants face in the United States.  Last summer, as a Research Associate at the Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA), I published articles on various topics including international development, human rights issues, Haiti, and Brazilian politics.  Last year, my colleague and I’s article on US-Cuba relations was featured in India’s leading foreign affairs magazine, Diplomatist.
A graduate degree from the Elliott School would complement my past experiences as well as my French, Haitian Creole, and Spanish language skills.  I am confident that my studies at GW will propel me further into my international affairs career.  After I have acquired my MA degree, I aspire to work alongside NGOs, government agencies, and foreign governments to find solutions to economically and politically-driven international development issues.
Before classes start, I look forward to exploring DC and finding the best spots in and around the capital!

The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.