2017 Incoming Class: Yint Hmu

unnamed

Meet Yint – Incoming Security Policy Studies student from Burma concentrating in Intelligence!

I was born in Yangon, Burma and grew up there until I moved to New York a few months short of my fourteenth birthday. Before I moved to New York, I was a competitive sailor for a few years. I represented Burma on numerous occasions and competed in international regattas. My childhood sports career peaked in 2009 when I ranked number one in Burma and was made the National Team Captain.
I recently graduated from Fordham University with double-majors in Political Science and Classics. During my time at Fordham, I served on the executive board of the undergraduate United Student Government for two years and got a first hand experience in dealing with bureaucracy, something that I will never forget.
I’m in the Security Policy Studies program with a concentration in Intelligence, though I have yet to decide on a second concentration.
I love every aspect about food. A lasting influence of growing up with grandma. I actually chaired a Student Government committee on improving the dining services on campus for two years. If I’m not out seeking new restaurants, you’ll find me in the kitchen experimenting with new recipes.
Looking forward to meeting all of you. Come say hi and don’t be a stranger!
The 2017 Incoming Class Series highlights students starting a Master’s degree at the Elliott School in the Fall 2017 semester. The series will run from June through the beginning of the semester. For more information, contact esiagrad@gwu.edu.