#WeAreElliot: Karrington Knight

Karrington smiles, wearing a red dress and sits for a professional photo.

Karrington Knight is a first-year master’s candidate in the M.A. in International Affairs program at the Elliott School, concentrating in Democracy studies and currently works as a staff assistant for Congresswoman Jasmine Crockett. She received her bachelor’s degree in international studies and minors in Spanish and film/media studies at Rhodes College in 2022. Her policy interests include protecting women’s rights and highlighting the important roles indigenous peoples play in the global system. Karrington also has experience in public policy and international finance through her time working for U.S Congressman Troy Carter, researching topics for official statements and directly interacting with constituents in his district, and work with Transparency International, U.S. Chapter, a global coalition against corruption. In that role, she cataloged cases of corruption within the nation, named a piece of legislation and created an itinerary for the organization’s International Anti-Corruption Conference. Karrington is excited for her future career at USAID, allowing her to follow her passions within the development space. 

What path led you to apply to graduate school? Why did you pick the Elliott School? 

International affairs began as a passion of mine in high school. During that time, the only individuals I had known to be somewhat involved in IA were attorneys. Yet, as I moved through my studies in college, my IA professors exposed me to the vast careers opportunities that didn’t require me to go to law school, a path that I had decided was not for me. In that, I learned how graduate school was more the route for me and about the Donald M. Payne International Fellowship, which covers graduate school tuition and provides a direct pipeline for a career at USAID as a Foreign Service Officer. Motivated by a pathway that set me up for my desired career while easing the financial burden, I applied to the program and was chosen as a member of the 2023 Cohort. Choosing the Elliott School was a bit serendipitous. After graduating from Rhodes College in 2022, I knew I didn’t want to go to law school and needed a break but didn’t have a solid plan of what was next. That summer I attended a summer program where I stayed in GW’s District House and spent a lot of time on the campus. When the Payne Fellowship became a reality and it was time to choose a graduate school, the familiarity I already had coupled with the program’s expansive course curriculum and experienced faculty made choosing the Elliott School a no-brainer for me.  

What has been your favorite course at the Elliott School so far and why? 

The class I’ve enjoyed the most has been Dr. Linda Bishai’s International Law and its Use of Force course. We learned and discussed the guiding principles and mechanisms that inform the structure of the international system. A lecture I particularly enjoyed was on the topic of AI and how emerging technologies affect international law and state responses. Dr. Bishai invited her colleague who works closely with the Department of Justice on this topic to further illustrate the contemporary need for policy and diplomatic development. Further, the ability to have last fall’s current events as real-world examples provided a backdrop for topics like the rules of war and international humanitarian law. Understanding the legal lens in decision-making processes widened my perspective on why states do what they do.  

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?

Currently, I work as a Staff Assistant for Congresswoman Jasmine Crockett of Texas 30. With my fellowship, I will be working for USAID upon completing my graduate degree. Because Congress sets the budget for the Agency, my position on the Hill provides me with a behind the scenes look at how negotiations for appropriations work and where might I feel those effects while on my future missions. Working on the Hill also highlights how legislation and development projects need capable implementing partners to truly make meaningful, transformation change in the spaces they are intended to help.  

Think of where you were when you applied to the Elliott School. What advice would you give yourself knowing what you know now, as a student? 

I would remind myself that I am capable and deserving to be in this space of intelligent individuals and to trust the journey no matter the twists and turns. The Imposter Syndrome and self-doubt I had during that time almost convinced me that I couldn’t accomplish the very things I am currently experiencing. I’m grateful to have persevered through it to not miss out on great opportunities that will set me up for my future.  

What is the most valuable thing you’ve learned so far at the Elliott School? 

Being a little out of practice from my gap year, the most valuable thing I was reminded of was the importance of discipline and time management. School full-time and working full-time requires me to make the most of my time so that I achieve and excel well in both spaces. Time management also helps me create space for me to unwind and enjoy D.C. on a more social than professional level.  

What three albums should everybody listen to? 

Imagination & the Misfit Kid by Labrinth 

The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill by Lauryn Hill 

Spiderman: Across the Spider-Verse by Metro Boomin 


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.