#ElliottProud: Nanda Ruiz

Blog_ #EP Ruiz.png Nanda Ruiz, MA International Development Studies, #ElliottProud Alumni

Nanda Ruiz is a Refugee Officer at the Department of Homeland Security. She received a B.A in Political Science and a B.S in Signed Language Interpreting from the University of New Mexico. She went on to earn her M.A in International Development Studies at the Elliott School, focusing on Gender development and humanitarian response. Ms. Ruiz is a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer (Peru 2012-2014) and her previous work includes positions with International Medical Corps, International Development Enterprise, and Save the Children. She has lived and worked in Bangladesh and Jordan and speaks Spanish, French, and ASL.

Describe your current position and what are your primary responsibilities?

As a Refugee Protection Officer for the Department of Homeland Security, my primary responsibility is to provide protection to people seeking asylum or refugee resettlement in the United States. I apply domestic immigration law, international humanitarian law, and refugee law to individual cases in order to provide the best protection available to applicants. My goal is to use all the legal tools available to me, country conditions, and testimony to best adjudicate and provide relief to refugees. I uphold stringent national security vetting processes while providing this important humanitarian aid to refugees.

What part of your experience at the Elliott School best prepared you for your current position? (Specific classes, student orgs, career development office, etc.)

Through the Elliott School, I was able to get outside of my comfort zone of Latin America and gain experience in South Asia and the Middle East. This has been incredibly valuable in my work as a Refugee Officer. I am able to put context to the stories I hear from refugees. I have an understanding of the realities on the ground that is impossible to gain without getting to the field. The Elliott School supports students obtain and seek the opportunity to go into the field. This provided me with the ability to be a more compassionate and patient interviewer.

How does what you’re doing now compare to what you thought you would be doing when you first started your program at the Elliott School?

My goal when I started the IDS program at the Elliott School was to get back out in the field as a development worker. Throughout my studies I found myself drawn to protection work focused on women and children. I did not see myself working in national security. My position now is a challenging but extremely satisfying combination of national security, humanitarian aid, and protection work. My experience at the Elliott School, internships, fellowships, and work abroad have all added to the way I approach my work. It has been incredibly valuable.

How do you feel about pineapple on pizza?

I feel pretty good about it.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #ElliottProud profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights graduate program alumni to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.