#ElliottProud: Krisztina Fabo

Blog_ #EP Fabo Krisztina Fabo, MA International Affairs, Class of 2016, #ElliottProud Alumni

Krisztina Fabo received a joint double-honors degree in Middle Eastern Studies and Eurasian studies at the University of Manchester, in England. Krisztina then completed her Master of Arts degree in International Affairs in 2016, with a concentration in conflict resolution, at the Elliott School of International Affairs. During Krisztina’s studies at the Elliott School, she pursued several internships at local NGOs and international organizations including six months at the Partnership for a Secure America, and one year at the Kennan Institute of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Krisztina was Teaching Assistant for three semesters, first teaching a forensic science course and then a business course for GW undergraduates. Krisztina has also completed a fellowship program with the United Nations Associations and got involved in smaller development projects on a volunteer basis.

Describe your current position and what are your primary responsibilities?

As staff assistant at the IMF, I work with renowned economists from around the world. This comes with invaluable benefits of gaining first-hand experience and learning something new every day. Nevertheless, joggling with multiple tasks, prioritizing among competing requests, and meeting short deadlines are very much part of a usual day. Besides completing a wide range of administrative tasks, such as updating files and scheduling meetings, I’m responsible for all aspects of country work related to Malawi and Zambia. Country matters include preparing policy notes, briefing memos, staff reports, updating press releases and country brief, liaising with field teams, and arranging missions.

What part of your experience at the Elliott School best prepared you for your current position? (Specific classes, student orgs, career development office, etc.)

Interacting with the diverse student body and participating in dynamic discussions inside and outside of the classroom gave me a solid foundation to be able to do an outstanding job. I really enjoyed my classes and all -without exception- contributed to my success. I would like to highlight Ambassador James Jeffrey’s “US Foreign Policy towards the Middle East” class. It’s a unique class where I students do tasks that are part of my job today. I remember I had to brief my classmates, think critically and practically about real policies, write memos, policy papers, and even did a NSC simulation!

How does what you’re doing now compare to what you thought you would be doing when you first started your program at the Elliott School?

I chose to study at the Elliott School because I want to design policies to fight poverty in the least developed countries. Looking back at the beginning of my studies I really didn’t have a grasp of what it takes -practically- to accomplish my goals.  I gained insight to the work through my courses and by doing internships. I learnt that the job starts in an office rather than going straight to the field (I thought I will be going for missions immediately). My work at the IMF is in line with what I imagined I would be doing but I also realize that it is only the beginning of a long journey.

How do you feel about pineapple on pizza?

Love it! I love mixing things up and trying everything out of ordinary. My motto is to always keep an open mind!


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #ElliottProud profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights graduate program alumni to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.