#IncomingElliott: Lori Lui

Blog_ #EI Lui.png Lori Lui, MA Asian Studies, #IncomingElliott Current Student

Lori Lui was born in Hong Kong and raised in Beijing, China until she was seven before her family moved to northern New Jersey. She earned a dual-degree from GW in 2013 in Environmental Studies and Geography along with a minor in Geographical Information Systems. In the last six years, she’s interned and worked at the Association of American Geographers, Chemonics International, Cultivating New Frontiers in Agriculture (CNFA), Institute for Global Environmental Strategies, as well as the World Wildlife Fund, where she currently works. Through work opportunities and colleagues, she has been exposed to the world of sustainable development and food security. When not working, she loves cooking and exploring new cuisines, practicing Muay Thai, reading, volunteering at clean-ups, and traveling the world on a budget. She will begin her MA in Asian Studies at the Elliott School in the fall.

What made you interested in your undergrad field of study and how, if at all, did that contribute to your decision to go to grad school?

While growing up, my Dad was a huge influence on me when it came to my curiosity about the environment, conservation, and providing a voice for species/things that have no voice. I would also be lying if my continuous binging of Pocahontas as a kid did not push me towards sustainability as well. After earning my Bachelors, I started working at the World Wildlife Fund in DC researching and analyzing environmental, social, and economic risk factors in agricultural production and sourcing utilized by companies in their supply chains. My research contributed heavily to my decision to go back to school to further understand food security and human rights with a conservation lens in Asia.

 What are you looking forward to about starting your MA program?

I am looking forward to engaging lectures and discussions with professors and driven like-minded peers. I’m also excited to stretch myself mentally and explore new topics.

Is there anything about moving to DC/starting grad school that you’re nervous about?

I have been living in DMV for the past seven years now, so I consider myself to be somewhat of a local. However, I am nervous about balancing a full-time work and class schedule and possibly giving up my happy hours with friends and colleagues.

If someone was writing a biography about your life so far, what would the title be?

What’s Cooking, Ma?


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #IncomingElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights newly enrolling students to answer common questions posed by prospective and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.