#WeAreElliott: Abigail Gress

Blog_ #WAE Gress Abigail Gress, MA International Affairs, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Abigail “Abbie” Gress is a second-year Masters candidate in the International Affairs program at the Elliott School, concentrating in U.S. foreign policy and conflict resolution. She received her bachelor’s degree in international relations and communications studies at Gonzaga University in 2017. Particularly, she is interested in peacebuilding, post-conflict transitions, and CVE in Latin America. She is currently an international programs intern with Creative Learning and the International Peace and Security Institute (IPSI), writing weekly Peace and Security Reports for the Americas region and coordinated the DC Symposium on the New Frontiers of Peacebuilding. She also has experience in international exchange and public diplomacy nonprofits during her time working at Meridian International Center. Abbie enjoys debating current events, traveling, and meeting people from different cultures.      

When did you realize you wanted an international career and what inspired you to select your program/concentration at the Elliott School?

My fascination for international affairs and other cultures started when I participated in a cultural exchange when I was in middle school in China. At this point in my life I had never traveled outside of North America, so traveling to China was a huge step for me. After this and taking classes in government and politics in high school, I knew international affairs was the area for me. In college, I struggled to find my area in international affairs and it wasn’t until my senior year after studying U.S. policy in Latin America that I knew U.S. foreign policy was what I wanted to pursue. It was here at the Elliott School, after taking the introduction to conflict resolution class as an elective that I discovered peacebuilding was what I wanted to pursue professionally. I was then able to start tailoring my professional work around this area when I started working at Creative Learning’s International Peace and Security Institute (IPSI).

What resources (online or offline) have proven to be the most valuable in helping you reach your career success?

Graduate Student Services (GSS)! I remember at orientation during one of the student Q&A panels someone said “if you never go to GSS during your time here, you did something wrong” and I completely agree! The extra steps they go for their advisees is incredible and I consult Tara Sonenshine for almost everything related to my career. They are available at almost any time of day, including phone calls at night if you work and are unable to come in. In my first year at the Elliott School, I think I met with GSS at least 7 times, either in person, through email, or on the phone.

What advice do you have for students for staying motivated at work or in class?

Think about the future. When I feel particularly unmotivated, I try to actually visualize myself in the position I want to hold in the future and what it will feel like when I am actually there. Along with this, remind yourself how school and your current work will assist you in this. Visualization sounds kind of gimmicky but it really works.

Favorite part about living in/around DC?

There is always something to do! I’ve found that it’s important to make sure you have free time when working and going to school, even if you have to actually schedule it in your calendar. Whether it’s exploring the restaurant scene or going to a Smithsonian, you’ll never be bored here.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.