#ElliottProud: Kate Hammerberg

#EP Hammerberg
Kate Hammerberg, MA Global Communication, Class of 2016, #ElliottProud Alumni

Kate Hammerberg is a Research Analyst interested in a wide range of functional security issues, Kate has a background in political science and political psychology. She holds a Master’s degree in Global Communication from the Elliott School, where she conducted research on the psychology of radicalization and women in non-state armed groups. Kate was one of the Elliott School’s funded field research fellows, an Elliott School Merit Fellow, and a recipient of President Barack Obama’s National Public Service Award. Prior to her current role, Kate worked as a researcher for the Center for Naval Analyses and RAND Corporation. Kate is currently affiliated with the Disinfo Portal at the Atlantic Council and the American Security Project.

Describe your current position and what made you interested in applying?

I’m a research analyst working on global public opinion projects; I work with quantitative and qualitative survey data to help policymakers understand how attitudes are shaped by disinformation and propaganda.

I have always been interested in people – how they think and why they do the things they do. I even wrote my thesis on a related topic—why women join violent extremist groups—so really, I think that curiosity has inspired me to pursue a career as a researcher.

What Elliott School courses would you recommend for students interested in your field and why?

I have to recommend Research Methods – if you know what tools you have at your disposal to collect information, make sense of that data, and ultimately to understand problems, I really think you can take on the world.

Also, I genuinely loved my courses with Bruce Gregory, Sean Aday, and David Karpf. They were tough courses but I am definitely smarter for having taken them, and that’s what made graduate school worthwhile!

What was your experience with the job search post-graduation? Can you provide any wisdom for students starting their job search?

I actually worked full-time while I went to school full-time, so I have to confess I did not do much job searching. That said, I encourage candidates to find a balance between humility and self-promotion. Be realistic about your skills, be polite, and be on-time (no excuses!).

What book should be required reading for all Elliott School grad students and why?

I vote for ‘the Unwomanly Face of War’ by Svetlana Alexievich. As students of international affairs, we should have to think about the potential cost of our failures not just revel in the possibilities ahead of us. Because of that, I think we need to be conscious of how our careers might impact real people, and this book really forces you to consider that idea.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #ElliottProud profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights graduate program alumni to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.