#IncomingElliott: Eli Patton

IE Blog_ #Patton Eli Patton, MA Asian Studies, #IncomingStudent Current Student

Eli Patton spent several years living abroad on a quest to understand China. He visited sacred mountains in China and Tibet, got lost in the maze-like streets of Beijing and Taipei and learned that China, like the U.S., is a vast country and we must take care not to stereotype. Eli also learned Chinese by studying at National Taiwan Normal University and interviewing locals. Eli seeks to help be a mediator between in a rising China and the developed powers of the West and is starting his M.A. in Asian Studies at the Elliott School in spring 2019. 

What made you interested in your undergrad field of study and how, if at all, did that contribute to your decision to go to grad school?

I earned my BA in applied linguistics, although I started as a Chinese major and ended up earning more credits in Chinese and Asian studies than in linguistics. I did however thoroughly enjoy studying rhetoric and the deep intricacies of how language works in our brains and cultures. My reason for studying linguistics was simple – my Chinese teacher said it would help me to be more employable in China, which was true. My reason for studying Chinese is a little more complex and evolved over time. It started with my passion for ethical philosophy, of which countless volumes have been produced in China throughout history – many of which have not been adequately studied in the west. Yet, the more I studied Chinese philosophy, the more I wanted to study the culture and people who created it. Later, my eyes were opened to the reality of modern China and I knew that my career would be related to US-China, China-World relations in some way. Mostly because there are just so few people in the West who understand China, and China will no doubt be one of the largest global players in the coming century.

What are you looking forward to about starting your MA program?

I am mostly looking forward to meeting my peers. People who choose to study China are special in that we are taking on a completely insurmountable task, thus there is something about us that makes us just a little odd. I revel in the nerdy, and the massively daunting task ahead. It will be great to meet other people like me.

Is there anything about moving to DC/starting grad school that you’re nervous about?

No. I was living in DC before I applied to GW. I have lived in several big cities, including Beijing, Taipei, and Portland. The weather here is much better than in most places, so I am lucky.

If someone was writing a biography about your life so far, what would the title be?

If someone were writing a biography of me the title would be “He Who Follows His Feet”.  I am a firm believer in the notion that actions have consequences, good and bad. From my time in the military to my time living abroad, every step of the way in my journey has had obstacles, but in overcoming those obstacles I have prepared myself for the next challenge that may come. I have met many people unsatisfied with their lives, yet unwilling to take a risk to change things. I, for one, have been extremely fortunate in life and I do not plan to wait and hope my luck continues. I am constantly striving to invest in my future, then follow where that path leads me.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #IncomingElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights newly enrolling students to answer common questions posed by prospective and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.