#WeAreElliott: Trevor Litwin

#WAE LitwinTrevor Litwin, MA International Economic Policy, Class of 2020, #WeAreElliott Current Student

After growing up in Las Vegas, Trevor Litwin attended undergrad at Occidental College in Los Angeles. There, he double majored in Economics and Diplomacy/World Affairs while minoring in Art History. He was a sprinter on the track team competing in the 100, 200, and 400-meter sprints while staying true to the Liberal Arts stereotype and working as a barista during his undergraduate tenure. He has worked in both the Irish and Scottish Parliaments, while additionally working in the office of Congresswoman Jacky Rosen here in DC.  He is currently a student in the International Economic Policy program at the Elliott School, concentrating in both International Economic Policy Analysis and International Economic Development. He currently works at the U.S. International Trade Commission as a Pathways Economist. 

When did you realize you wanted an international career?

When I was in high school, I originally thought I wanted to be a veterinarian. AP Chemistry thoroughly disenchanted me of that career path, and shortly after, I switched over to the humanities. I took my first international relations class as a senior in high school and immediately took to it after that. I felt that international relations perfectly combined history, policy, economics, and a sense of the true enormity of our world. I went into undergraduate intending to major in economics and minor in international affairs, but after learning no minor existed for international affairs, I decided to double major. After my junior year in college, I had the amazing opportunity to intern in the Irish Parliament and it was really at that moment I realized that a path in international relations was for me. With my background in economics as well, I felt that the International Trade and Investment Policy Program (now called International Economic Policy) was really the perfect mix of applying my skill sets.

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?

I currently am a Pathways Economist at the U.S. International Trade Commission. I was lucky enough to have this opportunity highlighted to me through the IEP program’s email list-serve, as many Elliott alumni have served at the Commission. In many ways, this is the perfect position for me given my recent and current curriculum. It has been very valuable to go from learning about trade theory in the classroom to applying the concepts relating to tariff barriers and monetary policy for the U.S. Government. The application of my knowledge in the public sector has helped provide a strong foundation for my career, primarily in helping see how economic policy operates. Many times, what you learn in class can feel extremely academic and difficult to understand in a real-world setting. I am so grateful to have this opportunity to access the training at the ITC in terms of programming and guest speakers to further my professional development and increase my skill toolbox.

What tools/strategies have proved most helpful in making the most of your time at the Elliott School?

In my time, I think being able to manage time appropriately has been the most important aspect of my time at Elliott. I know that sounds very basic, but being a full-time grad student while working part-time, or conversely being a full-time worker while being a part-time student, is a completely different ballgame than anything else. I was a very busy student in undergrad, and I would like to think that helped prepare me for the trials of being a grad student. That said, it becomes immensely important to allocate your time. Take time off of work if you know that you have to put in significant time and energy for a project, as I did this summer when I had 2 finals and a paper due in one day. Skip a 100-page pdf on a topic you know will not be covered by the professor in the lecture and you simply need to work on something else. Force yourself to get out of the academic/professional grind and take a walk around the tidal basin or step into one of the many beautiful art galleries. No matter what, your mental health comes first, and being able to keep that at a steady keel has been very important for me in the process of relocating to a city where everyone is incredibly smart, talented, and motivated. 

What advice do you have for students for staying motivated at work or in class?

I think one of the best things about working and going to school in DC is simply being at the epicenter for some of the biggest decisions made in the world. If like me, you’re often exasperated by a news notification, you know that very likely the major players are just a few blocks away, at the White House, the IMF, the State Department, or on the Hill. Being so close to the powers that be gives you a great onus to go out into the world and attempt to make it better. Additionally, I think the Smithsonian Museums and similar institutions can do great things to help keep one’s nose to the grindstone. The stories of those that came before us can do so much to help push you and keep working towards your goals. I personally love the Portrait Gallery/American Art Museum. Barack Obama went to my undergrad college for two years, and despite eventually transferring, was a big deal for our school. Going to the museum and sitting on a bench a bit removed from his portrait and just reflecting on my own life and path has been something I’ve done often, and I recommend you to find your own personal version, where you can attempt to jumpstart your motivation if you find it lacking.

Favorite place to unwind on the weekend?

Despite DC being a city naturally focused on politics, there are great opportunities to feel removed from the city hustle even without leaving the city! I have gotten into kayaking since I’ve gotten out here, and out on the Potomac, it can be very peaceful to admire the tree-lined river banks and feel like you’re far away from the hustle and bustle of life. If you’re more of a land animal, there are some great bike paths around, notably the Mt. Vernon trail that goes from Theodore Roosevelt Island all the way to Mt. Vernon. East Potomac Park has a driving range that for $8 gives you a chance to get out your frustrations by indiscriminately whacking a golf ball, while places like the National Sculpture Gallery and the Botanic Garden offer a little bit more of a natural respite. The National Arboretum is a real gem as well, and if you have a car, getting out to Shenandoah National Park can be a great day trip. If it’s raining or snowing, check out Earth Treks Climbing Gyms in Crystal City and Rockville!


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.