#WeAreElliott: Trevor Howe

#WAE HoweTrevor Howe, MA European and Eurasian Studies, Class of 2020, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Trevor Howe is a second-year Masters candidate in the European and Eurasian Studies program at the Elliott School, concentrating in European security and U.S. foreign policy towards Russia.  He received his bachelor’s degree in international affairs with a dual concentration in security policy and Europe/Eurasia from the Elliott School in 2018, during which time he studied for a semester in Brussels.  Since his family has Estonian roots, he is interested specifically in Baltic security.  He is currently a graduate assistant and tutor within the Department of Athletics at GW, and is a teaching assistant for IAFF 2094: Europe International and Domestic Interactions starting in the fall.  He also has experience working at the Department of State within the Bureau of Conflict and Stabilization Operations, the German Marshall Fund of the United States, as well as at the British Embassy in Washington.  Trevor enjoys staying up to date with American and British politics, strategic board games, and black tea.

When did you realize you wanted an international career?

I truly realized that I wanted an international career of sorts back when I was eleven.  At that time, I had gone overseas to play in an international soccer tournament in Shrewsbury, England, and while there I had been afforded the incredible opportunity to have trials with some the country’s most iconic clubs.  The prolonged time I spent in the United Kingdom piqued my interest in all things foreign, and from that point on my eyes were always cast internationally.  Later, my soccer career brought me to the University of Rochester where I played for one year on the varsity soccer team until my desire to be at the center of international affairs drove me to transfer to the Elliott School.  My dream of one day playing soccer overseas then transformed into a dream of tackling international issues for the betterment of humanity, and though my days of competitive sport are gone I will always be grateful to the route it exposed me to.

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?  

Currently, I work for GW’s Department of Athletics as a Graduate Assistant at the Lerner Health and Wellness Center, and as a tutor for student-athletes. While working at LHWC, I have been able to put into practice what I’ve learned in the classroom with regard to the formation of policy in order to improve the student experience at GW.  As a tutor, I chiefly instruct student-athletes in French; it helps solidify my understanding and grasp of the language, and that’s important to do in a realm where knowledge of languages is highly valued.  Additionally, I am a teaching assistant for an undergraduate course on domestic and international European affairs, which is an incredible opportunity to help guide and inform students on subjects that I have come to understand on a deeper level.  All of these fit into my career goals since in the future I would like to help improve lives and facilitate an understanding of complex issues to those around me.

What has been your most rewarding academic experience at the Elliott School and why?

The most rewarding experiences I’ve had at the Elliott School where when GW hosted NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg, NATO Supreme Allied Commander Transformation Denis Mercier, the Estonian Minister of Defence, and the Estonian Minister of Justice.  At each event, students were able to ask questions on contemporary issues and it was incredibly insightful in understanding how security issues are handled by those currently in positions to affect policy.  As an Estonian, it was particularly fascinating to have ministers from the government take time out of their busy schedules to talk with us.

What advice do you have for first-year students who are starting their internship or work experience search?

Once you find something, understand that you need to have a work-school-life balance! At times you may feel like you’re not doing enough with your time, or that you have to use all your time for professional or academic growth, but always remember that you need to take time for yourself.  Your days at university will fly by much quicker than you may think, so enjoy the little moments while you can.  Also, your experiences will be helpful in getting employment later on but focus on making those genuine connections with people during your time at these organizations.

What 3 books should everybody read and why?

  1. Meditations by Marcus Aurelius; Stoic philosophy is as relevant today as it was centuries ago, and much can be learned from the writings of one of Rome’s greatest Emperors.
  2. Game Theory 101: The Rationality of War by William Spaniel; My understanding of Game Theory and its applicability to International Affairs, as taught to me by Professor Spaniel at the University of Rochester, has been the foundation upon which I have built my academic career.
  3. Winter is Coming by Garry Kasparov; As a former chess champion for the Soviet Union, Kasparov gives some insight to what that experience was like, fighting for intellectual prestige against the United States during the Cold War, but in this book, he also walks the reader through the development of Russia under President Vladimir Putin. As an outspoken critic who lives in self-exile, Kasparov’s perspective is fascinating and compelling all throughout.

Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.