#WeAreElliott: Yesenia Grajeda Yepez

#WAE YepezYesina Grajeda Yepez, MA Latin American and Hemispheric Studies, Class of 2020, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Yesenia Grajeda Yepez is a second-year Masters candidate in the Latin American and Hemispheric Studies Program at the Elliott School concentrating on Migration and Security. She received her bachelor’s degree in International Affairs and Sociocultural Anthropology at GWU in 2017. Yesenia is currently conducting research on Central American migration to her hometown of Yuma, Arizona and is in the process of implementing an app to assist with processing and reuniting immigrant families more efficiently across various U.S.-Mexico border communities. She has previously interned for the Mexican Embassy in DC and worked on International and Consular Relations as well as Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy. For the past five years, Yesenia has served as Director of the Josefina Yepez Cancer Walkathon, which raises funds for cancer patients in Yuma County, Arizona. During her spare time, she enjoys playing the violin and creating digital drawings. 

When did you realize you wanted an international career?

I first realized I wanted an international career in middle school. At that time, I was very interested in learning Japanese and becoming a translator because I was obsessed with anime and manga. My mom would often retaliate when I spoke of these intentions because she felt that I needed to become an expert in my own culture before exploring others. As a Mexican-American raised along the U.S.-Mexico border, I did not feel studying my culture would bring me anything new. I would not realize I was completely wrong and that I truly wanted an international career until I took SPAN 2006 with Prof. Moreno during my first year of undergrad at GW. Prof. Moreno was a sweet professor who saw I was struggling to adapt to DC life and asked me one day a very important question: Why are you here? That night I looked out my dorm window and saw a poster hanging outside Gelman that read “Whether its 4 years at the White House or at GW, you can change history”. My difficulty fitting in, Prof. Moreno’s question, the GW sign outside my window and the numerous students walking below finally made it all click together: I was at GW to hone my skills to become an effective policymaker who could properly voice the concerns for U.S.-Mexico border communities. Since then I have dedicated my studies and career to migration and security as well as continue to discover new things about my culture every day.

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?

I currently work at the College of Professional Studies (CPS) and Disability Student Services (DSS) at GW. I am also the Director for the annual Josefina Yepez Cancer Walkathon (JYCwalk) held in Yuma, Arizona. Although my occupations do not primarily focus on Latin America and Hemispheric Studies, they do help me in developing various skills that are useful in my field. For example, at CPS my day-to-day tasks focus a lot on management of events and acting as a liaison between the Dean and other departments within the University. These interpersonal management skills are useful for meeting with clients and partners when discussing international policy. At DSS, I have learned how to be considerate of my students and adapting to their needs in creative ways. This is useful for collaboration with groups that may have difficulties with, for example, an interpretation which is important to take into consideration when assisting vulnerable groups such as unaccompanied minors or indigenous families. Lastly, my work at JYCwalk has allowed me to become cognizant of the specific needs of my community. Although we focus on assisting cancer patients, many of the underlying causes of cancer and the experiences people have in trying to attain treatment provide a framework that helps identify economic, social and emotional needs of the community.

What tools/strategies have proved most helpful in making the most of your time at the Elliott School?

Critical thinking and networking skills have proved the most helpful during my time at Elliott. Being an expert in everything is not realistic. You do not have to be an expert in anything so long as you are able to critically think about any situation that is put in front of you. This is especially useful when it comes to networking events.

What advice do you have for students for staying motivated at work or in class?

Remember that you are here for you. You must decide what you want to study. You are allowed to follow your own timeline. Do not compare yourself to your classmates because they are not the reason you came to GW.

Do not be afraid to ask for help or to step out of your comfort zone to be social and network your butt off. It is ok to not think in an “international affairs lens” all the time or follow every single issue relating to your degree.

Watch that extra episode of Bob’s Burgers, drink that extra glass of wine, and try random sports like disk golf. Make sure to practice that “me” time so that you don’t burn out so fast and truly enjoy the time you spend in the classroom rather than dreading having to show up to another class.

Dale ganas! Ponte las pilas! (Give it your all! Turn on your batteries!)

Favorite place to unwind on the weekend?

My favorite place to unwind on the weekend is probably Big Bear Café in NoMA. They have some of the best coffee and food of any café in DC that I have found so far. They also have cool events like ASL classes and mini-concerts from time to time.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.