#WeAreElliott: Caroline Reid

#WAE Reid, C.Caroline Reid, MA International Affairs, Class of 2021, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Caroline Reid graduated from Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina in 2012 with a Bachelor’s degree in Spanish. After spending some time working in various libraries and a bookstore, she spent five years teaching English in South Korea and Japan. While in Japan, she discovered her passion for international affairs and began studying for the Foreign Service Officer Test. She is now a first-year student in the MA International Affairs program at the Elliott School, with a concentration in Conflict & Conflict Resolution, and she holds a part-time job at the GWU Law School. Caroline is fluent in Spanish, proficient in Japanese, and speaks basic Portuguese and Korean.

When did you realize you wanted an international career? 

I decided to pursue international affairs after I learned about ISIS and what they were doing. I had been teaching English in Japan at the time, and I was looking for something more fulfilling. Education is a great career, but I knew that I had more to offer. I wanted a career in which I could confidently say that I was making the world better.

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?  

I work on campus at the GW Law School. I had been out of school for several years, and I wanted a low-stress job that could help me pay the bills. I am allowed to study at work when I am not needed, which really helps me out with the workload from classes.

What has been your most rewarding academic experience (i.e., in-class, with an institute/office, at an Elliott sponsored on/off-campus event) at the Elliott School and why?  

Just this morning I went to an event pertaining to the National Intelligence Council, and it was like a red carpet event for the intelligence community. I met the authors of two of my textbooks and got their autographs, and I learned a lot about what the intelligence community is thinking for the future. I’m not a morning person, but it was definitely worth getting up early!

What advice do you have for first-year students who are starting their internship or work experience search?

Sometimes you just have to study and pay the bills, and there is no shame in that. If you feel driven towards something more, go for it! Just don’t feel pressured to do something you think might not be best for you. It’s your career, and this experience can be whatever you want it to be. Make it work for you, don’t make it work you!

Best hidden talent?

I can lift some pretty heavy things! I got into lifting weights a few years ago, and I’ve tried to make time for the gym at least twice a week. Having that as an outlet has really helped me with my physical and mental health.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.