#WeAreElliott: Hannah Mezei

#WAE MezeiHannah Mezei, MA Asian Studies, Class of 2021, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Hannah Mezei is a first year Masters candidate in the Asian Studies program at the Elliott School with a thematic concentration in China and professional concentration in Asian security. She graduated magna cum laude her bachelor’s degree in international relations and Chinese from Drake University in 2018. Hannah participated in a 7-month language immersion program in Guilin, Guangxi, China during her undergraduate studies. Following graduating with her B.A. she spent a year living and working at Southwest University of Political Science and Law in Chongqing, China. She was awarded the Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship to pursue a master’s degree at the Elliott School while continuing her Mandarin Chinese language studies. Hannah was recently offered a research assistant position with The Nuclear Security Working Group housed within the George Washington University. While not in class you can find her traveling around Asia, reading for fun, trying new food, and hiking.

What inspired you to select your program/concentration at the Elliott School?

During high school I discovered a love for languages, taking courses in French, Spanish, and Chinese. Upon graduation I attended Drake University, receiving my B.A. in International Relations and Chinese. I spent seven months participating in an intensive language immersion program in China and also lived and worked with-in various parts of China. Through my studies and travels I knew that I was passionate about international relations but specifically regarding Asia and China. I also knew I wanted a program that allowed me to continue my language studies at an advanced level to improve my professional language skills. The Elliott School provided a rigorous academic program in Asian studies that allowed me to narrow my focus to Asia and China. Additionally, I was awarded the Foreign Language and Area Studies fellowship, allowing me to improve my professional Mandarin Chinese language skills. When entering the Elliott School, I had not yet chosen my professional focus. After taking an Asian Security course I discovered a new passion: security studies. Since then, I have taken various security courses and have a new career goal of acquiring a position allowing me to use my Chinese language skills and knowledge of Asia to work on security issues. Overall, the Elliott School provides a flexible program that encompasses all my specific niches: Asia, China, Mandarin Chinese, and security.

What has been your most challenging academic experience at the Elliott School and how did you overcome it?

The most challenging academic experience I have faced at the Elliott School is actually my current situation: navigating the switch to completely virtual courses in the face of Covid-19. It is difficult to stay motivated and get coursework done when I am at home and my brain is already on vacation mode. However, it is comforting to know that all graduate students in the country are also navigating this change. My cohort has done virtual hangouts to stay connected and the Elliott School has switched various events to virtual platforms. Additionally, GW has taken significant measures to help adjust to this new change. Classes are still in process, we are still learning, and hopefully things can return to normal soon!

What resources or strategies have proven to be most helpful in helping you reach career success?

I think the most helpful career resource is the people around you. There are so many brilliant, passionate, and connected students from all walks of life in my cohort and at the Elliott School. Some students already have multiple years experience in a specific career, others are interning at prestigious institutions, and all you have to do is have a conversation with them to understand the various career paths available and to receive connections. Additionally, The Elliott School’s Graduate Student Services (GSS) is extremely helpful! They are extremely willing to sit down and talk career paths, potential opportunities, or life in general. Handshake has also been a useful resource in finding potential internship and job opportunities in addition to interesting events. Furthermore, our program sends out a weekly newsletter with upcoming events and jobs that are of interest to all Asian Studies students.

Now that you’re a graduate student, what do you wish you knew during the graduate application process?

During the graduate application process I wish I would have known just how many opportunities the Elliott School and Asian Studies program provides. I wish I knew the quality of the Chinese language program at G.W.- I knew it was good but it has surpassed my expectations and I have learned so much. Finally, I wish I knew that you should take your first semester easy and evaluate what you have time for instead of jumping into everything all at once. It is okay to say “no” to invitations and events, GW and the D.C. area host so many events and there will always be another to go to. Stay focused on creating the best life-work-school ratio for yourself!

If you could bring any food from abroad to D.C., what would you bring?

If I could bring any food from abroad I would bring Guilin Rice Noodles (桂林米粉). When I lived abroad in Guilin, China I ate it every day- so yummy, simple, and a local specialty (not to mention it only cost 50 cents!). The dish was just rice noodles, soybeans, green onion, fried pork or roasted beef, and some sort of magical sauce poured over top. What made it even better was the owners of the small rice noodle shop right next to my apartment. I was able to create a personal relationship with the old couple who ran the shop and their small grandson they cared for during the day. They were always the highlight of my morning. When I returned to visit last year I was able to reconnect with them over a bowl of their special rice noodles.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.