#WeAreElliott: Genesis Romero

Genesis Romero, MA Latin American and Hemispheric Studies, Class of 2022, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Genesis Romero is a first year Master’s candidate in the Latin American and Hemispheric Studies program at the Elliott School, with a concentration on security and migration. She received her undergraduate at UC Davis and doubled majored in International Relations and Spanish, with a focus on peace and security.  After she graduated from UC Davis, she decided to work as a Community Impact Coordinator for AmeriCorps Vista to gain professional experience. She worked with the low-income community in Woodland, California by providing resources and organizing events for a year and then proceeded to attend GW. She is the Communications Director for Elliott Graduate School Board (EGSB), and the Events Coordinator and Podcast Host for GW Ubuntu.  Her goal is to work with an organization that focuses in the Latin and Central American region by either providing resources and or humanitarian assistance to the low-income populace.

When did you realize you wanted an international career?

I think I realized that I wanted an international career when I was 16 and my family and I went to visit the family that we sponsored in Colombia. They lived in Cartagena, one of the more touristic places in Colombia, yet they lived in a very impoverished neighborhood. When I was there not only did I witness how they lived, but I was able meet people who worked in NGO’s that were assisting the children that lived there. They were promoting education, providing resources, and helping them explore better opportunities. Experiencing this made me realize that I wanted an international career that focused on assisting individuals in developing countries, particularly in Latin America.

Where would you like to be, career wise, 5 years from now?

Five years from now, I hope to be working in an organization that focuses on Latin and Central America. I specifically would love to be able to implement programs that would center around corruption, human rights, and criminal organizations. Additionally, I hope my career will let me travel to the countries that I am assisting with so that I will be able to receive first-hand knowledge and experience on the situation that the country is facing.

What has been your most rewarding academic experience at the Elliott School and why?

One of the most rewarding academic experiences that the Elliott school provided to me is being a part of the WAND program (Women’s Action for New Direction). It is a mentorship program that promotes diplomacy and demilitarizing U.S. foreign policy, elevating women’s voices in conversations about national security policy, and educating and engaging women legislators and Members of Congress on peace and security issues. I am paired with an amazing mentor who is a Foreign Affairs Officer for the State Department. She has taught me so much and has opened my eyes to the many opportunities that I could pursue for a career.

What advice do you have for first-year students who are starting their internship or work experience search?

I would say go to as many workshops and events that interest you. It’s a great place to learn what you’re interested in and you meet people who are an expert in that field. From my experience they are more than happy to help you out and provide network connections. Establish a connection with them, follow up (through LinkedIn or email), and see if you can receive an one-on-one meeting with them to learn more about what they do.

Favorite quarantine related meme?

“I am not a cat” meme

Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.