#WeAreElliott: Regina Da Silva

Regina Da Silva, MA International Development Studies, Class of 2021, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Regina Da Silva is a second-year student pursuing a Masters in International Development Studies specializing in Social Enterprise, Entrepreneurship, and Private Sector Development. She received her bachelor’s from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, having double majored in International and Global Studies with a concentration in Human Rights and Communication Studies. She currently the Program Coordinator for the Economic Empowerment & Entrepreneurship team at Vital Voices, specifically serving the Global Ambassadors Program, a Vital Voices and Bank of America partnership to accelerate women’s leadership and economic empowerment throughout the world. Prior to this position, Regina served as a TEFL volunteer with the United States Peace Corps in Ecuador. Aside from her primary role as a teacher, she led multiple secondary projects, including work with gender equity through Let Girls Learn-GLOW (Girls Leading Our World) clubs and camps.

What path led you to apply to graduate school? Why did you choose the Elliott School?

My experience as a Peace Corps volunteer exposed me to the development field, specifically in terms of sustainable development interventions. I explored graduate programs that would fit my interests, provide me with the opportunity to learn from development practitioners, and allow me to reside in a city in which to refine my professional skills. Two years later, I can say Elliott checked off every box, and then some.

What has been your most challenging academic experience at the Elliott School and how did you overcome it?

The COVID-19 pandemic, coupled with the heightened social injustice in our country was by far the most challenging part of my academic experience, especially as I was directly impacted. The remote lifestyle robbed every student of that in-person experience we had initially signed up for and limited our opportunities for quality networking and connections. Although Zoom calls became the new norm, they brought their own set of challenges stemming from power outages, connectivity issues, and technology failures which presented themselves more often than not. Finding a way to remain resilient and continue to show up and perform despite the isolation, loss, and constraints I faced this year was not easy, but finding support in my community, classmates, and ESIA faculty made it more manageable.

Where do you currently work, intern or volunteer, and how does it fit in with your career goals?

I currently work at Vital Voices Global Partnership, an international development NGO dedicated to supporting our women leaders around the world. I specifically serve the organization through its Economic Empowerment and Entrepreneurship team. This opportunity couldn’t have come at a better time, as I had just changed my specialization from education to Social Enterprise and Private Sector Development. I saw firsthand how applicable the theories and skills gained in my courses were in the field of development and the potential one can have in making a difference on a global scale. I wake up every day with a sense of purpose, confident knowing that I am exactly where I need to be, doing exactly what I’ve always dreamt of doing.

Now that you’re graduating, what do you wish you knew during the graduate application process?

If I knew what I know now during my application process, I would have explored other concentrations and connected with current students to understand and learn from their experiences. I was stuck to the idea of having to focus on education, given that’s the sector I had dedicated myself to during my Peace Corps service in Ecuador but I found myself regretting that decision my first semester as I realized my interest was not so much in education, but more so in my previous work around gender. Today, I find myself serving as a resource to incoming students, providing a lens into the classes, professional opportunities, and resources available to them at GW. Perhaps had I done the same, I could have saved myself a lot of headache, and the money spent on unnecessary classes.

What has been your most valuable experience while studying at the Elliott School?

This is a loaded question. My two years were filled with experiences and different exposure, which I’ll forever be grateful for. I joined a cohort of some of THE most incredible human beings, all fueled by powerful motives to become the next leaders in development. I had the privilege to learn from some of the most brilliant professors who invested in me both academically and professionally. I saw my dreams supported by the Office of Innovation & Entrepreneurship which led to being a participant in both the GWomenxSpringboard and the National Science Foundation’s I-Corps programs, not to mention making the top 100 teams in the New Venture Competition. I developed new skills as I served on the Organization of International Development board and was truly impacted by my involvement with Young Black Professionals in International Affairs and all the amazing young leaders aspiring to make a difference in our world. I was able to give back to the university as I served on the ESIA Council of Diversity Equity and Inclusion. Not to mention the professional development that came from working with the World Bank Group as my capstone client this last semester. To deem any one of these experiences as the most valuable, would be doing a disservice to my time at the Elliott School. Despite the limitations brought on by the pandemic, I can proudly say that my expectations were not only met but exceeded.

If you could bring any food from abroad to D.C., what would you bring?

Cachupa! A famous dish from my home country of Cape Verde. I found myself craving comfort in my family’s cooking on a constant basis. If you’re ever in Rhode Island be sure to stop by a Cape Verdean restaurant for a plate of cachupa, you won’t be disappointed.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.