#WeAreElliott: Alvin Young

#WAE Young, AAlvin Young, MA International Affairs, Class of 2020, #WeAreElliott Current Student

Alvin Young is a student in the M.A. International Affairs program at the Elliott School and a 2018 U.S. Department of State Charles B. Rangel International Affairs Fellow. He Studied in Morocco as a National Security David L. Boren Scholar and also as a Charles B. Rangel International Affairs Scholar. After completing his undergraduate studies at Marymount Manhattan College, Alvin served in various national and international organizations including, the Africa Society, Yale Young African Scholars Program at Yale University, The Building Movement Project, Impact Network and completed internships at The Council on Foreign Relations, United States Embassy Seoul in South Korea, U.S. House Committee on Foreign Affairs, United Nations, and the District office of Congressman Charles B. Rangel. He will join the United States Foreign Service in July 2020.

What inspired you to select your program/concentration at the Elliott School?

I selected the International Affairs program because I wanted to gain analytical and research skills that prepare me for a career in the United States Foreign Service. It was important to me to combine the international affairs curriculum with a security concentration because I wanted to explore development issues, emerging threats and transnational challenges in Africa and around the globe. Additionally, the International Affairs program has provided me with many opportunities, including career coaching, fellowships to fund overseas internships, and professional opportunities in Washington, D.C.

What has been your favorite course at the Elliott School so far and why?

My favorite course at the Elliott school is Africa Security Challenges, taught by Yolande Bouka, an International Affairs scholar-practitioner. The course exposed me to Africa’s current and emerging security threats, and trained me to evaluate ways to resolve these challenges in a holistic manner in order to sustain security, stability and development. Also, my classmates were professionals who worked at various organizations in D.C.  Their contributions to our class discussions were rewarding because it helped me think critically about addressing the multiple challenges faced on the African continent. Furthermore, I was able to apply my experience to my professional work that summer in South Korea, where I worked on ROK-Africa relations for the United States Embassy in Seoul.

What has been your most rewarding work, intern, or volunteer experience since starting your program at the Elliott School?

Currently, I work at the Council on Foreign Relations in the Africa Policy Studies program. I am fortunate enough to work with a team led by Ambassador John Campbell, the former U.S. ambassador to Nigeria and South Africa. At CFR, I am challenged every day to think critically about  U.S.-Africa policy, and I am grateful that I can learn from scholar-practitioners in International Affairs. The Elliott School has prepared me to contribute to the team because I can effectively apply my classroom experiences and skills to the workplace. I have written blog posts for CFR’s Africa In Transition, edited Ambassador Campbell’s forthcoming book on Nigeria, researched Africa security challenges, and interact with an extensive professional network here in Washington, D.C.

What advice do you have for first-year students who are starting their graduate studies?

My advice to first-year students is to visit the Elliott School Career Service Center. The center has the most professional staff you will meet at GW, and they are dedicated to your success! Always keep your appointments, be active on Handshake, and remember to say thank you to the people who are investing their time into your development. Also, it is imperative to invest in your mental health. Grad school can be extremely challenging and stressful, especially if you are juggling a part/full-time job. It would be best if you had positive outlets and hobbies to get you through the next two years. Finally, it is essential to identify mentors who are dedicated to your success and who will hold you accountable to accomplishing your goals. Keep in mind that your mentors will always make time for you.

What three music albums should everybody listen to and why?

  1. Nicole Moudaber – Believe
  2. Bob Marley and the Wailers – Legend
  3. Lizzo – Cuz I love You (Super Deluxe)

I am a fighter, an optimist, and a strong believer in positivity and self-love. At my core I believe that humanity can persevere in the face of difficulties. If that resonates with you then the albums above should be a part of your music collection.


Want to connect with current Elliott School students and alumni? Click here to see how!
Find out more about this program by creating a CustomViewbook!
Join us for an information session, RSVP here!
Click here to apply to the Elliott School!
Twitter · Facebook · Instagram

The #WeAreElliott profile series is managed by the Elliott School Office of Graduate Admissions and highlights current students to answer common questions posed by prospective, incoming, and current students. For more information on this series or to submit questions, e-mail the Office of Graduate Admissions at esiagrad@gwu.edu.

The views expressed by students profiled do not necessarily represent those of organizations they work for, are affiliated with, or the Elliott School of International Affairs.